Skip to content

Mapping Discoveries…Guest Blogger – Jill Taylor

May 23, 2012

Experimental Research for

Advanced Design – Diploma Course

Class Name: Sapphires

We will be featuring work from the exhibition of multimedia art students who have been studying design at the Gail Harker Creative Studies Center for the past 18 months.  The course challenges students to incorporate carefully considered elements of design into large scale projects.  The techniques explored during this course prepared these students to express themselves in the media most appropriate to their unique artistic vision.  Documentation through sketchbooks as well as Wall Hangings, 3-D items and Design boards were incorporated into their art work. Gail Harker

All artwork © Jill Taylor

Advanced Design was never going to be an easy ride for me.  Thanks to Gail and Penny I have gained confidence in my ability to take the germ of an idea into a research theme and then develop that theme visually in a wide variety of ways.  Mapping discoveries truly describes my journey as I look back over the past two years. Jill

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen Nelson permalink
    May 23, 2012 2:38 pm

    Jill’s work is spectacular…..I didn’t get a chance to see everything at the exhibition, so it is great to be able to enjoy it on the blog! I especially like viewing her “dragon” (main piece of the exhibition) in the separate slides…..it gave me a chance to see the richness of each piece separately….as well as the “whole” as I saw it in real life.

    Karen Nelson

    • May 23, 2012 3:36 pm

      Karen, I agree, This is only one piece of work that bloggers can enjoy. There is a huge body of work accomplished by each exhibitor that only the visitors at the exhibition are able to see. It is wonderful to show this hand made accordion book in a little more detail. Exhibitors will also know that Alba’s husband built a special 5ft high table to display Jill’s book on. That’s the length of the book. Gail

  2. Nancy Piepenbring permalink
    May 29, 2012 3:35 pm

    Jill, your work is beautiful and very exciting! I wish I could have been at the exhibition, I’m sure it was wonderful and fun. Your friend from Kansas.

    • Jill Taylor permalink
      June 17, 2012 1:21 am

      Hi Nancy – took me a while to reply as I was in the UK immediately following our exhibition. You were certainly with us in spirit at the exhibition … Barrie was asking after you both and missed your company too. Perhaps you need a Pacific NW visit in late July 2014, our final show.

  3. Susan Befus permalink
    June 2, 2012 2:45 pm

    Jill you are so talented, your work would appeal to everyone including my 6 year old Grandson. Thank you, Susan Befus

  4. Annemarie Andresen permalink
    September 1, 2012 11:05 am

    Jill I just successfully entered the blog . I absolutely admire your work, you are a true artist.
    Thanks for sharing and showing me your journey with Gail, and the coffee of course. You are my inspiration and now I am the new kid on the block.
    See you soon
    Annemarie Andresen

Leave a Reply

