Skip to content

Chocolate Strawberries with Love

March 20, 2012

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On Valentines Day – Feb.14th Don, my husband made the group of students that was at the studio hand dipped light and dark chocolate covered strawberries. Don loves to cook and bake but only for those people that will enjoy it.  Our groups always do!! For well over 30 years Don has been cooking for me.   I have been photographing as much as I possibly can, sometimes at the risk of ruining his creations as I try to climb up on a counter or balance precariously atop a ladder at an awkward angle to get the very best shots that I possibly can. Often I implore him not to cut a particular special looking fruit or vegetable until I can photograph it properly and perhaps draw it as well. Sometimes his fruits and vegetables get into the classroom so the students can do the same.  As he is preparing any creation he will give me a call if he thinks it looks interesting. Occasionally we collaborate on paper to make a particular recipe come to life with my staged photos and his descriptions of how to make a particular recipe. I know it’s time to move my camera away from his kitchen when he shouts at me ENOUGH as I am finishing up my 85th picture of the inside of a squash!!!!!!!!!!  Gail

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Marilynn Olson permalink
    March 20, 2012 4:27 pm

    I can’t imagine how many strawberries Don had to examine to get such perfect ones for this strawberry feast. So, what class will coincide with Valentine’s Day next year? This could be a new approach to get students to sign up early.

  2. March 20, 2012 6:50 pm

    Perhaps Don needs to start teaching all our husbands how to cook 🙂 Mine could use a few lessons!

  3. March 21, 2012 2:23 pm

    Maybe Don should start his own recipe blog… I’ll sign up!

  4. November 24, 2014 10:14 am

    Reblogged this on Don2's blog and commented:
    Chocolate is a favorite with students so make items with chocolate whenever possible. Don

Leave a Reply

