Skip to content

Space – The Final Frontier.. Guest Blogger Leslie Barnes

March 3, 2012

Drafting tape

Wintergreen homework from session 4, presented at session 5 at the end of January, included additional work on the concept of ‘positive and negative’ images/spaces.  I really struggle trying to see what lay between images and shapes. Let’s face it, when I am looking at the dishes in the sink that are waiting to be washed or hunting through the pantry looking for a particular spice bottle, I am only looking at the height of the stack, the labels, the surfaces of the objects.  I am not looking at the spaces between the plates that form a continuous unbroken line weaving in and out in a very consistent pattern and I am certainly not marvelling at the sensuous curving spaces that surround the area between all the jars and bottles that line my pantry shelves.  

 Even as I type this, I see that my keyboard is arranged in lovely, regular squares and rectangles.  But wait, if I look between the geometric shapes, I see that there is a wonderful lattice-work design which is actually more interesting than the keys themselves!  Again, method to Gail’s madness …. those spaces that lay between our everyday objects hold the promise of interesting and beautiful shapes and designs.  A case in point is this photo of a pile of ‘discarded” drafting tape with touches of Shiva colour on the edges.  The swirls and curls exist as shapes because of the spaces and interplay of those spaces between and around the tape – magic!

 Now if I could only make those dishes in the sink disappear! 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann Rogers permalink
    March 3, 2012 7:20 am

    I’m right there with you Leslie. Those of us who like things neat, tidy and in place (except for studio, of course) do struggle with seeing the negative spaces. I’ve learned so much through our exercises and believe there is hope. See you soon.

  2. Penny Peters permalink
    March 3, 2012 6:55 pm

    Hi Leslie, What a lovely reminder to look beyond the obvious! Especially in the world of dirty dishes, overflowing cupboards, etc. Thanks for sharing with us on the Blog. Penny

  3. Lexa permalink
    March 5, 2012 1:08 am

    Way to go Leslie! Negative may become more obvious but probably not in the dirty dishes. I do like the up close tape images.

Leave a Reply

