Skip to content

Mail@letters.gone

October 10, 2011

What a thrill it is and was to receive a letter from someone you really care about.  I was once shown a quantity of envelopes painted by an artist and sent to his dear friend.  Each one was so beautifully and lovingly painted with a different picture on the many  envelopes.  Although I did not read the letters, I knew that this artist cared a great deal about the person receiving the mail, to take the time to embellish his letters so lavishly.  Letters have played an important part of our lives and have travelled through history to describe great people and events.  Although people are still writing, even more than ever, the personal elements of the actual letter may be dying a death as we use fonts from our computer instead of using our own handwriting.  What do you think?  Perhaps this is a question that may get different answers depending on the age of the individual?   Gail

 I set Level 3 Design students, the Periwinkles an assignment to design an envelope and writing paper.  They were to work from their inspirations derived from an artist Hundertwasser.  the results  just about makes you want to write a letter, doesn’t it?

Copyright Margaret Joseph

Copyright Marny Stevenson

Copyright Nancy Scagliotti

Copyright Stephanie Metzger

Copyright B.J. Arnold

Copyright Jarina Moss

The next blog I write will be my 100th.  Not bad, considering I didn’t think I’d make it past 5 when I started.  The most people we have had reading  the blogs is 195  a day.  I hope to better that number.  I’ll let you know what happens.  Gail

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill Taylor permalink
    October 10, 2011 5:35 am

    What a brilliant challenge. And what extraordinary results.

    • October 11, 2011 1:55 am

      I am constantly amazed by how people put their thoughts into pictures. So much fun to design and play at the same time. Thanks for commenting Jill. Gail

  2. Barbara Fox permalink
    October 10, 2011 10:51 pm

    I, too, have wondered what will happen to the wonderful art of letter writing. Your Level 3 students created some very imaginative stationery sets. What fun it would be to receive a letter written on any one of these.

    Congrats on your 100 blogs. I love reading them and get inspired each time.

    • October 11, 2011 2:01 am

      The next blog will be 100. I’m bracing myself for the experience of writing it. So glad you get inspired. That inspires me and that makes the experience really worthwhile. Thanks for commenting, Barbara. Gail

  3. Liz permalink
    October 11, 2011 7:59 pm

    Sure makes me want to create my own stationary! Those are delightful and wonderfu to see and examine closely.

Leave a Reply

