Skip to content

An “AHA” Moment with my Art…. Guest Blogger – Stephanie Metzger

October 4, 2011

Pepper © Stephanie Metzger

Birch Tree © Stephanie Metzger

Eggplant © Stephanie Metzger

Tomato © Stephanie Metzger

Onion © Stephanie Metzger

Thread Study © Stephanie Metzger

Black & White © Stephanie Metzger

All artwork © Stephanie Metzger. Stephanie recently completed Level 3 Art & Design.

I have struggled and learned a lot from my work with Gail and my fellow students.  They have been very supportive, and it has been a very good learning experience.  I learned that my work is just that – my work.  Comparing myself, my skills and knowledge to others gets nowhere.  It is hard to put into words what I have learned, but as I work, or read a book, there are many “Aha!” moments when I recognize something that we have been taught or can use comfortably a technique with which we experimented.

I realized I love to carve lino blocks and hope to expand my knowledge of printing with the information I have gained through this class.  I have learned to paint papers in a totally different way than when I first began.  That, along with the printing, opens many new ways of working.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Barbara Fox permalink
    October 4, 2011 11:16 pm

    It is so true that comparing yourself to others gets you nowhere. We must all work at our own pace and skill no matter where we are. Your work is lovely. I can’t wait to take a level 3 class from Gail.

Leave a Reply

