Skip to content

Online Color Studies Coming Soon

September 8, 2011

 

 The Satin Flowers came to the studio last week to study Level 1 Color. It is always so exciting for me as well as the students to open one new colorful door after another. We have five ideallic days at the studio – 40 hours in all to drink in and work with color studies. My students, who begin with little or no experience become extremely skilful at knowing how to look at color and understand how to work with it. My own philosophy is that color is seen and felt through the senses and every individual senses it differently. 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Every time I teach this course (over many years) I do more research, write more notes and create more color studies in the pursuit of that fleeting magic of color. I have been asked so many times over the years if I teach an online color course. My answer has always been not yet. To create as many written words and show the quantity of pictures that come close to a classroom experience has been challenging. But I have been solidly working for the past five years on getting all that information and inspiration into Power Point Presentation demonstrations, lectures and colorful student notes for our first Online Color Course. The student notes are divided into three working units and each unit contains about 100 pages. There are student exercises for each unit. We are looking to launch it soon with the start date for Unit I of Nov. 29, 2011. There will be more information available shortly. Drop me a line if you are interested in receiving more information about our first Level 1 Online Color Studies Course.  Gail

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol Burrows permalink
    September 9, 2011 2:59 pm

    I am excited for all those who will be taking this class. Reading your blog brought back many wonderful hours of exploration with color.

  2. September 12, 2011 10:55 am

    Hi Gail, Yes! I would be thrilled to know you were offering an online color course. I know it is not like being in that classroom. I was lucky to have had a chance to study with Ruth Issett when I lived in Edmonds. Now I live in Florida. So I could not come to take the class. For years I have wanted to take the whole series of classes. I am always impressed with the caliber of the work that your students produce. So when you are ready to teach online please let me know.
    The lush large green leafs down really can make a red cardinal standout.
    Also…I am a friend of Valerie Stein… she was my first felt teacher!
    Warmly,
    Cami
    http://colorsmith.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

