Skip to content

Greener Pastures in a Valley Greener Still

June 22, 2011


The movers are here this week, and we thought you would enjoy a look into our world during this transitional period.  Once everything came together, we had less than a month to move everything out.  We absolutely could not have accomplished this feat without the generous help of the students, friends, and family who came in to assist with the packing.

Anne Middleton packs away art materials and tools in the wet room.

Everything had to go.  And we do mean EVERYTHING.

Nick helps to remove every shelf, cabinet, and appliance we put in when we made this place our home.

Meanwhile, the copious amounts of materials that support a working studio are gathered together in the gallery. The sheer volume dwarfs Anne Middleton, BJ Arnold, and Gail.

Jordan River Moving and Storage arrived yesterday to move the bulk of the studio, including all of the heavy furniture.

These guys were efficient and fast workers. I worried that if I sat in my chair too long, I might find myself crossing Deception Pass in the back of the moving truck.

A sad state of affairs repeated in 3 other emptied offices...

We have one more class in session here at the old place, and we are looking forward to seeing you all at our new home in La Conner, surrounded by agricultural beauty in a valley famous for its tulips.  As they say, we’ll see you on the flip side!

Right now the garden at the new studio is displaying poppies and peonies, but by next spring the surrounding area will be aglow with tulip fields.

If you have a funny story about moving, share it with us. We would appreciate it. 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill Taylor permalink
    June 22, 2011 10:21 pm

    Having moved MANY times, I can tell you there’s rarely any funny stories. You just have to keep your sense of humour! Thank you for this post. Jill

  2. June 23, 2011 12:16 am

    Gail et al,

    I think it is only funny after you are done, and it can take years to find the humor…..

    Our last move, had the husband putting the final items into the boxes as I was gone (probably up to class). These were things we hand not stored while living in our temporary apartment. As we sorted and began to unpack, I could not find my shoes, nor the kitchen knives, for weeks and I mean weeks all I had to wear were the shoes I had on when I left the house. And I ended up replacing the knives with better ones as I got tired of the search. Of couse it was the last box taken out of the apartment, so it was the first box put into the corner of the new garage, with every other box piled on top of it. I am not sure he did not do it on purpose, so as never to have to pack again.

  3. Penny Peters permalink
    June 23, 2011 12:36 am

    In a few days we’ll be rolling up our sleeves to begin unpacking in the new place. We’ll be keeping our senses of humor dusted off as we get thing organized in new spaces. Those moving guys were just wonderful! Quick, careful and quiet. It was amazing! Penny

  4. Lexa permalink
    June 23, 2011 5:24 am

    Thank you for taking the time to keep us in the loop. Having moved every few years all my life I am still waiting for the funny bits. When we moved to England (young age) I gather the packers packed the garbage for storage! The only positive thing about the actual move is the clearing out that gets done. Wish I was closer and could lend a hand.

Leave a Reply

