Skip to content

From Dissing to Kissing Klimt – Guest Blogger Leah Kaufman

June 11, 2011

Leah has completed the Level 4 Diploma in Advanced Research for Design (the Rubies). Here are her reactions to an assignment given in her Level 3 Art and Design class (Camellias).

A storyboard explores ideas which are more fully developed in a finished piece. Photo ©Gail Harker

During my college years, every other girl seemed to have a poster of Klimt’s “The Kiss” on the dorm room wall; I decided the print was awful. Zip ahead thirty years and as I sat in Gail’s class she described the assignment: study an artist and build a body of work based on their art. It was obvious – this was my opportunity to study an artist that I believed I disliked. However, with all of Gail’s lessons about color, line, composition, pattern and division of space, the richness, delicacy and balance of Klimt’s work opened to me like a flower in full sunlight. And I fell in love. I loved the levels of detail I saw when up close and others that emerged with each step back. I loved the major lines that gave each piece such wonderful composition. I still don’t have a copy of “The Kiss” but love having the ability to study an artist’s work, analyze what pulls me in or pushes me away, the practice of copying details from their art, and the delight of seeing their influence appear in my art.

Preliminary pattern study explores ideas based in Klimt. Photo © Gail Harker

Though it is easy to see the influence of Klimt, Leah's fruit studies have a unique flavor of their own. Photo ©Gail Harker

Luscious lime links line with pattern. Photo ©Gail Harker

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jill Taylor permalink
    June 11, 2011 4:49 pm

    Lovely to see your work again, Leah! Jill

  2. Nancy Piepenbring permalink
    June 13, 2011 2:09 pm

    Leah, Your designs are amazing! The beautifully graceful designs balanced by peaceful spaces are a delight. Nancy

Leave a Reply

