Skip to content

My Wilderness Experience in Collage Guest Blogger – Betty Manning

May 19, 2011

Spider Woman, Canyon de Chelly ©Betty Manning

In 1995 I saw a brochure advertising classes being taught by Gail Harker.  The picture on the brochure was of a collaged landscape emphasizing distant mountain ranges in perspective.  The design inspired me to immediately sign up for Gail’s classes, but alas the waiting list was long.  That didn’t slow me down.   Collage was a new idea for me, and I was so inspired that I began doing collages of my own.  I would often stay up until 3 or 4 in the morning working on them. 

A Rock Cliff ©Betty Manning

Because I love nature it became my goal to interpret my wilderness experiences in collage.  I used matte medium as glue and tore up pictures for the color groupings, and heavy-weight water-color paper, mounting the final collage on a board backing.  When the glue was dry, I would enhance the collage by using water color paints over the paper to get the effect that most closely resembled the memory I was recreating.  I practiced, threw out some and tore apart others to glue again. 

Northwest Coast ©Betty Manning

The images I am most pleased with are all about nature: rocks, the shore, landscapes.  I still continue to make collages and use watercolors.  I am so grateful to have been inspired by Gail.  Her classes opened new worlds for me.

Surf ©Betty Manning

Betty Manning was a City & Guilds student (an Iris) in the nineties.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. claudia manning permalink
    May 20, 2011 12:51 am

    I have a few of those pieces and my friends remark on their beauty. I just love them

  2. May 23, 2011 10:59 am

    Betty, these are lovely. They evoke the feeling that I miss of the Pacific Northwest coast.
    I can almost smell the rocky coastal waters.
    Nice work.

    Cami Smith

  3. Kathleen Dapper permalink
    May 31, 2011 5:34 pm

    I am very proud of my Aunt Betty Manning. Her love of nature along with her unrelenting creativity are always an inspiration. I just left her Bellevue home where I viewed many special collages hung in plain view. I have a special watercolor of Canyon de Shelly at home and I treasure her artwork. To me, she is a unigue artist who has honed her vision, constantly improving and expressing herself.

Leave a Reply

