Skip to content

Springtime Obsessions

April 17, 2011

There are many lush vibrant colors in the springtime in the Puget Sound region.  It seems like spring will never arrive but in between the rain drops and grey skies, new flowers begin to emerge.  I keep a very large digital photographic album of plants and flowers from A-Z for color, line and textural reference.  To condone my obsession, I say that I need a lot of reference for my students.  Alright, I have to admit that I just love to photograph, draw or stitch them myself.  And in some peculiar way, it allows me to keep a garden all year round without the weeding. I hope you enjoy a peek at my garden.  Gail

The Wintergreens, A Level 3 Design Course were at the studio last week.  They each brought a plant or flower for a color study. This is Lesley Barnes’  color study.

Parrot Tulips

Close up of Parrot Tulip.  You can really begin to see  a lot more when you are closer.

Rhododendrons are almost all in full bloom at the studio this week.

What does your springtime look like? Send us a picture telling us where it was taken.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Ann Rogers permalink
    April 18, 2011 4:50 am

    Wintergreen class had some great flowers to inspire our studies. Had a great time learning how to work with a variety of media including glass beads and sand in gel. Some new texture ideas for sure.

Leave a Reply

