Skip to content

Paper Flowers Exhibition – Guest Blogger Lynda Williamson

March 15, 2011

Mounting an exhibit truly means measure twice , cut once, NOT measure once cut twice and trim, trim, trim.  Make sure you have plenty of tape, pins and sense of humour, especially when you are cutting mat board for the third time.  And yes, accuracy does count!

This storyboard displays some of my ideas that were worked as I sampled for my finished book. ©Lynda Williamson

Once all the pictures were hung on the wall with care, I wondered how they would be received.  How kind the viewing public was with their comments and questions.  I certainly hope to meet up with a number of our interesting guests in future classes.

Book
Wow, what a process creating my final assignment.  Just a few pages for a fabric book, but what theme to base it on?  Once I decided on my garden as the inspirational jumping point I was off to the races in many directions.  Thanks to Gail’s and Penny’s direction I was able to narrow the page choices to a manageable level and begin the creative process.  Dye the fabrics and threads, acid treat a little metal, heat it, bend wire and then ink it, take a few photographs and transfer them to fabric, rip and layer fabrics, paint a few others, grab the colour pencils, and then burn a little fabric.  Many hours and a few stitches and a little blood and sore fingers the project was done, done, done.

Several spreads from my garden-inspired book. ©Lynda Williamson
5 Comments leave one →
  1. BJ Arnold permalink
    March 15, 2011 6:19 pm

    WOW…. I so appreciate you sharing you unique colorful work and hope to see what else you have done and will be doing in the future.

    THANK YOU..BJ

  2. Nancy Lazar permalink
    March 18, 2011 9:02 pm

    Lynda, wow! I love your book and especially your garden gate. Great creativity.

  3. Laura Zawalsky permalink
    March 19, 2011 5:30 pm

    They look great momma bear! A lot of long hours put into those little pieces! Excellent colour pallet!

    I am so proud of you!!!!

  4. Lexa Shaw permalink
    March 23, 2011 4:22 am

    Lynda, what a great study. I do hope to see it. The book is fascinating and I’m curious about the spine. It looks so complicated.

  5. Charlene permalink
    March 23, 2011 4:14 pm

    Lynda,
    Great Job!! I love it and can’t wait to see it in person. (Oh, and you too of course).
    The work looks divine. You should be very proud of yourself.

Leave a Reply

