Skip to content

Paper Flowers Exhibition – Guest Blogger Lorraine Ross

March 8, 2011

My final project for Level 2 hand stitch was inspired by lichen. I had spotted a bright patch of lichen on a picnic bench when out for a walk on the beach one morning. I was instantly drawn to the color and took photos of the lichen and the weathered table top.

This storyboard shows my original photographic inspiration, as well as some stitch samples for my book.

In one session we studied photo to stitch and manipulated fabric. The photos were printed out on fabric, fabrics and thread were dyed and I was on my way. I loved the texture and dimension that was accomplished in my samples.

Here, I have presented some of the steps in preparing the printed image for stitch.

However, the texture also meant that I did not want pages that laid flat so I thought it better to have a book that stood upright. It was a challenge to create a design to flow across the pages but with Gail’s patience and guidance the task was accomplished. I truly enjoyed creating my little book and look forward to developing my skills further in upcoming classes.

Both sides of my accordion-style book inspired by lichens.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 7:49 pm

    Gorgeous!

  2. Penny Peters permalink
    March 8, 2011 9:23 pm

    Very inspiring and beautiful work. It was a treat to see it in reality at the exhibit!

  3. Ann Rogers permalink
    March 8, 2011 11:27 pm

    It looks fabulous! Hope you left it at Gail’s for us to see in a couple of weeks.

    • March 10, 2011 12:48 am

      Hi Ann, the Level 2 design boards will be available to view while Wintergreens are here in April. The books however have departed with their makers. – Sabrina

  4. Lexa Shaw permalink
    March 9, 2011 3:58 am

    Great going Lorraine. It looks fabulous. Can’t wait to see it for real come April.

  5. BJ Arnold permalink
    March 9, 2011 5:39 pm

    Very beautiful work. I was so pleased to be able to see this at the exhibition and appreciate you posting it to remind me of how very special it was… and to allow others who were unable to attend the exhibition to also view your work.
    Thank you.

  6. Karen Jurek permalink
    March 18, 2011 8:03 pm

    Lorraine,

    Your work is wonderful. So rich and the depth is outstanding. I’m Looking forward to seeing it in person when you return and bring it to Guild.

    Karen J

Leave a Reply

