Skip to content

Guest Blogger – Gordana Vukovic

September 23, 2010

Last August I attended a three-day From Digital Prints to Stitched Art  workshop taught by Gail in Oak Harbor.  I made the decision to participate at the last minute and, as I didn’t have much time to prepare, I assembled my class supplies haphazardly.  It was a challenge to pick only a few photographs that, as a first step in making the stitched art, would be printed on fabric later in class.

I took one of those photographs on a blistery cold day last February, from a pedestrian bridge in a park near my home in Upstate New York.   Water has always been an inspirational magnet for me and this picture depicts the iced over creek, Normanskill.  Here, the vegetation on the banks contrasts the creek with its orientation, height, colors, and textures, and at the same time complements it. 

Figure 1: Photograph of Normanskill by Gordana Vukovic

Before the workshop, in Photoshop Elements  I subtly manipulated the colors in this photograph to generate a warmer feel for my art piece (see Figure 1).  I worked on the colors further during the workshop by layering sheer nylon scarves over the photograph printed on cotton.  I then added some hand stitches – sparingly – so as not to take the focus away from the colors and overall mood of the piece (see Figure 2).

Figure 2: Artwork "Normanskill" by Gordana Vukovic

Looking back on the experience, I don’t mind anymore that my fingers almost froze when I captured the original picture.  I am even looking forward to taking more snow-covered photographs this winter for future art pieces!    

Stay warm,

Gordana

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

