Skip to content

Sketchbook Pages from an Exhibiting Student

July 16, 2010

We have an exhibition this weekend – Level 3 Studies in Art and Design. These students all maintain sketchbooks for their course work, and we thought you might like to hear from one of them – Linda Ingham from White Rock, British Columbia.

One of my favourite sets of pages (in my sketchbook) was the rock study in the Level 3 Art and Design course.  It helped me to really focus on what I saw – NOT what I generally saw.  I liked exploring the lines and colours of the rock.

 

I was interested to note the shape can cover different spaces (square/rectangle) from one side to another. I enjoyed studying the veining in the rock.

The tonal shade study shows how different one view can be by varying the shades/intensity of gray.

I used Sharpie pen and graphite pencils from 2H-8B. The colour study was done three ways - acrylic paint, oil pastels, and coloured pencils.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

