Skip to content

Fabric and Thread in a Non Traditional Way

September 20, 2016

Autumn Exhibition Blog #3 – Advanced Studies in Experimental Stitch – Asters

I grew up in a family that encouraged many types of art experiences. Hand stitch and machine stitch were always part of my many projects. As I grew older I kept looking for new challenges that would take me outside the stitch box, I wanted to move outside the lines, to design, draw and create with fabric and thread in a non traditional way. I started with Klimt in this course as my inspiration for my 3D project. As I observed his work I was drawn to the repetitive lines and swirls he used in his pieces. I took small sections and developed them further. Japanese Boro is another inspiration. I studied the colours, aging fabric, its movement and layering – leading me to create my own modern version. Gail’s classes have given me the tools to challenge myself in design and putting a major project together. They have sparked a bigger passion for continued exploration in this exciting art field. I am looking forward to the fourth level!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2016 9:34 pm

    Wow, Lynette, these are great. I especially like the one you are standing in front of in the photo.

  2. Penny Peters permalink
    September 21, 2016 1:05 am

    Congratulations on your beautiful work and exciting exhibit!!

  3. September 23, 2016 4:30 pm

    Lynette, Enjoyed seeing your work at the recent exhibit. I agree with Ruthlane, the filmy piece is exquisite. Thank you for sharing in this blog!

  4. Barbara Fox permalink
    September 26, 2016 10:09 pm

    Congratulations on your wonderful work! Your Klimt vest is great!

Leave a comment