Skip to content

Expressing Myself Through Stitch…..Guest Blogger – Susan Sasnett

April 25, 2012

Last weekend the group Calypso ( Level 3 Advanced Studies in Experimental Stitch)  received  their Certificate and hosted a graduation exhibit at our center.  Congratulations to all.  Read Susan Sasnett’s artist statement and have a look at some of her creations.. 

Expressing myself through stitch has been the most meaningful part of my life since making doll’s clothes on my mother’s sewing machine. I love the connection that stitching creates with a deep place inside me.  It is that place that informs my process of creation and my life as a whole. I enjoy the finished project as the different elements of design come together. The organic lines in nature inspire me and in particular the line forms found in caterpillars and butterflies.  Being a Kindergarten teacher invited me to create a playful caterpillar that would engage the children’s imagination.  Taking classes with Gail has provided me the opportunity to make stitching a regular priority in my busy life. The classes have introduced me to the world of dyeing, mixing, changing color and helped me develop new artist eyes to view the world.      All artwork ©Susan Sasnett

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Terri Shinn permalink
    April 25, 2012 7:21 pm

    You did a great job Susan! It looked magical!

  2. April 25, 2012 8:35 pm

    Wonderful work – I love the caterpillar!

  3. Emily Martinez (friend of Linda Summers) permalink
    April 26, 2012 4:02 pm

    I came to the exhibit as a guest, and was blown away by the works and colors. So impressive – loved it all. So talented!

  4. Barbara Fox permalink
    May 5, 2012 2:16 am

    Your work is inspiring to me Susan–the butterfly wing banner was eye-catching! Beautiful work!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 288 other followers

